What I have learned in week 3

Hi everyone! On this blog, I would like to share about what I just learned and understood about making good flowcharts in terms of management information system. We all know that flowchart is about a visual representation that describes the sequence of steps and decisions needed in particular to perform a workflow or process. I strongly believe that the existence of flowchart is very important thing to make common people understand about how the work should be performed from the beginning until the end of the process.

First of all, let me share you our work process which is about the process of enrollment for new semester in President University. Basically, my friend and I from group 3 have decided to explain about the process of enrollment for new semester by using president university information system and below is the first version of ours before the revision.

The previous one

Based on our flowchart above, we from group 3 realized that our previous flowchart still needs to be revised and improved as well to make our work process more clearly and easy to understand. That is why, my friend and I would like to show you our newest process about how to enroll new semester by using president university information system as we strongly believe that it will be more easily for common students to follow and understand compared to the previous one. Below is the new version of ours after we revised it.

Copy of SIPOC Diagram

Based on our newest process above, I learned that to give more details in every step of the process from the start until the end is a MUST in order to make common people easily understand about how the work should be performed from the beginning until the end of the process.  And besides, there is also another thing that we have to consider and it is about how to use flowchart symbol correctly. We all know that every special shape in flowcharts actually has different types of actions or steps in a process. Therefore, what I have already learned so far is that to give more details in every step of the process, and know each meaning of its flowchart symbol is a very important thing to be known, especially in terms of management information system. I personally believe that if we want to make the work process in a correct way,  it has to be more detailed, clearly, and also easy to understand by common people so that our work process does not make any confusions. Finally, that is all that I want to share and I hope this blog can be useful and give you some knowledge about the things that need to be considered in making good flowcharts. Thank you very much and have a great day:)

Leave a comment